The Hello Bar is a simple web toolbar that engages users and communicates a call to action.

General Election 2008 Nomination Day

Yesterday was the nomination day for Malaysia 12th General Election, a total of 1,109 nominations for 505 state seats and 479 for 222 parliamentary seats were accepted by the Election Commission. In the last Parliament, which was dissolved on Feb 13, Barisan Nasional controlled 198 of the 219 seats, DAP had 12, PAS seven, Keadilan one and Independent one.

There are seven parliamentary seats and three state seats uncontested on nomination day this year. All of them won by Barisan Nasional except one state seat by PAS. However in 2004 General Election, Barisan Nasional had a better start when it won 21 seats uncontested compared only 9 seats yesterday.

The uncontested seats are as follows;


Pengerang – Azalina Othman Said (BN)
Kalabakan – Abdul Ghapur Salleh (BN)
Kapit – Alexander Nanta Linggi (BN)
Pensiangan – Joseph Kurup (BN)
Selangau – Joseph Entulu (BN)
Kanowit – Aaron Ago Dagang (BN)
Tanjong Manis – Norah Abdul Rahman (BN)


Kijang – Wan Ubaidah Omar (PAS)
Sementa – Abdul Rahman Palil (BN)
Bugaya – Ramlee Marhaban (BN)

PAS won the seat uncontested when the UMNO candidate for Kijang, Mustopha Ahmed, was disqualified because he had been declared a bankrupt. With the nomination process completed, the scramble for the 10.9 million Malaysian votes has began and will last for the next 12 days.

Rate this:

Technorati Tags: , , ,

No Comments

Leave a reply

CommentLuv badge